The Wheel Deal

Fixing you up with life in the fast lane.
Posted: June 23rd, 2013 | By Thomas Falkiner

24h Le Mans 2013

Audi has won the 24 Hours of Le Mans for the fourth straight year in an endurance race overshadowed by the death of Danish driver Allan Simonsen at the start. Simonsen was the first driver fatality at Le Mans since 1997.

Tom Kristensen, Allan McNish and Loic Duval steered Audi No. 2 to victory on Sunday, one lap clear of Toyota No. 8 driven by Anthony Davidson, Sebastien Buemi and Stephane Sarrazin.

It was Duval’s first victory at the world’s most famous endurance race, but the third for McNish and the ninth for Kristensen, who extended his record for most titles by a driver. Audi earned its 12th title at Le Mans, four shy of Porsche’s record.

[Source : Sapa-AP /wb]

Leave a Comment